Food Embargo Extended to 2020

UrBC, Yekaterinburg, June 27, 2019. Russian Prime Minister Dmitri Medvedev extended the food embargo involving imports from a number of countries through December 31, 2020. The announcement can now be seen at Russia’s official legal information portal.

According to the latest version of the paper, the words ‘through December 31, 2019’ have been replaced with ‘through December 31, 2020’.

Now the EU, United States, Canada, Australia, Japan, Switzerland, and a number of other countries imposed a series of sanctions on Russia in March 2014, following the Ukrainian developments. Then, on August 6, 2014, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed Executive Order On Special Economic Measures to Protect the Russian Federation's Security. Starting August 7, 2014, the Russian Government banned the import of certain food items from the U.S., the EU member states, Norway, Australia, and Canada. The EU states extended their sanctions against Russia on June 22, 2015. On June 24, Russia extended its food embargo by another year. Later on, the food embargo got extended two more times.

Other materials on the topic::