Delegates from 15 countries to visit Yekaterinburg on Town Day

15 August 2013 (12:59)

August 15, 2013. Delegates from 15 countries are going to come to Yekaterinburg for the city's 290th anniversary celebrations, Deputy Mayor of Yekaterinburg for Social Policy Mikhail Matveyev said at a press conference dedicated to the Town Day.

Yekaterinburg expects visitors from its sister cities Genoa and Turin (Italy), Guangzhou (China), Annaba (Algeria), Mogilev and Minsk (Byelorussia), and Incheon (South Korea). What is more, delegates from a number of African countries will come to the capital of the Mid-Urals as well. Most of the delegations will be headed by city and town mayors.

Matveyev says Yekaterinburg Council is planning to encourage the foreign visitors to support Yekaterinburg in the November voting for the host city of EXPO 2020 during the August celebrations.

Deputy Mayor is now aware, however, of whether the BIE representatives are going to come to the city on its 290th birthday.

Other materials on the topic::